Safety Sign Classification and Use

June 01, 2014 2 min read 0 Comments

With regard to the Australian Safety Sign Standard AS1319-1994, Safety signs are classified and should be used according to their function as follows:
(a) Regulatory signs Signs containing instructions with which failure to comply
constitutes either an offence at law, or a breach of standing orders, safety
procedures or other directions, depending on which kind of control has been
imposed at the work site or workplace. They are subdivided as follows:
(i) Prohibition signs Signs that indicate that an action or activity is not
(ii) Mandatory signs Signs that indicate that an instruction must be carried out.
(iii) Limitation or restriction signs Signs that place a numerical or other defined
limit on an activity or use of a facility.
NOTE: No limitation or restriction signs are given in this Standard. However, the commonly
used speed limit sign (see AS 1742.1, Sign No. R4-1) will often be encountered in the
(b) Hazard signs Signs advising of hazards. They are subdivided as follows:
(i) DANGER signs Signs warning of a particular hazard or hazardous condition
that is likely to be life-threatening.
(ii) Warning signs Signs warning of a hazard or hazardous condition that is not
likely to be life-threatening.
NOTE: The term caution used in earlier editions of this Standard has now been replaced by
the term warning (see Preface). The two terms are regarded as being interchangeable.
(c) Emergency information signs Signs indicating the location of, or directions to,
emergency related facilities such as exits, safety equipment or first aid facilities.
NOTE: The Standard excludes EXIT signs of the type specified in AS 2293.1 for use inside
(d) Fire signs Signs advising the location of fire alarms and fire-fighting facilities.